Thursday, October 16, 2008

And the winner is...

Erin Coates...

Judges Margaret Moore (PIAF Visual Arts Manager & PICA Board Member), Jasmin Stephens (FAC Exhibitions Manager) and Clive Barstow (ECU Head of School of Communications and Arts) selected Erin (FAC Exhibitions Officer) as the winner of the 2008 Joondalup Invitational Art Award.

She is about to commence a residency at PICA so it will be interesting to see how the new work manifests.

Further to the major award, Shane Pickett (winner of the 2006 Joondalup Invitational Award) won the $1000 'Celebrating Joondalup' award and Bennett Miller won the excellence award.

Personally, as mentioned before, I found Tony Nathan's work very strong as well as that from Tori Benz, Susanna Castleden, Eli Smith and Gian Manik.

* The image is not the 'actual' work but rather an image from Erin's 2007 show at PICA.

No comments: